Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Sunday, Aug 13

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

Premier League (1400 unless stated)

Newcastle United v Tottenham Hotspur (1230)

Manchester United v West Ham United (1500)

Mourinho's reshaped United host West Ham, Spurs at Newcastle

LONDON - Jose Mourinho's revamped Manchester United host West Ham United at Old Trafford knowing they must improve on their home form to challenge for the title, while last season's runners-up Tottenham Hotspur travel to Newcastle United, where they lost 5-1 on their last visit. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from GMT/ AM ET, by Neil Robinson, 500 words)

We will also have individual reports on each match (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAMA-TEAMB/) plus quotes and sidebars on merit.

Spanish Super Cup, first leg

Barcelona v Real Madrid (2000)

Valverde faces baptism of fire against Real in Super Cup

BARCELONA - Barcelona's new coach Ernesto Valverde gets his first proper taste of their scorching rivalry with Real Madrid in the Spanish Super Cup first leg at the Nou Camp as the Catalans face up to life without departed Brazil forward Neymar. (SOCCER-SPAIN-FCB-REA/SUPERCUP, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

Italian Super cup

Juventus v Lazio (1845)

Double winners Juve face Lazio in Supercoppa

ROME - Juventus, league and cup winners last season, meet Lazio, runners-up in the Coppa Italia, in the annual Italian Supercup match. (SOCCER-ITALY/SUPERCOPPA, expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 300 words)

Ligue 1 (1800 unless stated)

Racing Strasbourg v Lille (1300)

Dijon FCO v Monaco (1500)

En Avant de Guingamp v Paris St Germain (1900)

Neymar set to make PSG debut at Guingamp, Monaco visit Dijon

PARIS - Paris St Germain's world record signing Neymar is set to make his Ligue 1 debut when the title favorites visit Guingamp while champions Monaco visit Dijon. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

German Cup

Leipzig and Hamburg in first-round German Cup action

BERLIN - Last season's league runners-up RB Leipzig are in action at amateurs Dorfmerkingen while Hamburg SV visit third division side Osnabrueck. (SOCCER-GERMANY-CUP/ (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

We will also have all the latest transfer news from around Europe as clubs strengthen their squads for the new season. (SOCCER-COUNTRY-TEAM/, expect throughout)

ATHLETICS

World Championships (to 13)

Kiprop eyes fourth world title, Ayana bids for double

LONDON - Kenyan Asbel Kiprop bids for his fourth successive world title in the men's 1,500 meters and Ethiopia's Almaz Ayana starts as favorite in the women's 5,000 on the last day of the championships. (ATHLETICS-WORLD/, expect throughout, by Mitch Phillips, Brian Homewood, Ian Chadband and Christian Radnedge)

GOLF

PGA Championship: (to 13) Charlotte, North Carolina

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina – Kevin Kisner had a bogey at the last but is clinging to a one-stroke lead on seven under par after posting a one-over-par 72. Hideki Matsuyama stands on six-under along with Chris Stroud. (GOLF-PGACHAMP/, moving shortly, by Andrew Both and Larry Fine, 500 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA Rogers Cup

Federer dumps Haase to reach another Montreal final

Swiss second seed Roger Federer used a dominant service game to earn a 6-3 7-6(5) semi-final win over Dutchman Robin Haase at the Rogers Cup in Montreal on Saturday. (TENNIS-MONTREAL/, moved with updates to follow, 400 words)

Wozniacki to meet Svitolina in Toronto final

Ukrainian Elina Svitolina crushed defending champion Simona Halep 6-1 6-1 on Saturday to reach the Rogers Cup final in Toronto where she will face Dane Caroline Wozniacki. (TENNIS-TORONTO/, moved, 300 words)

CRICKET

Sri Lanka v India - second day, third test

India resume second day on 329-6 against Sri Lanka

PALLEKELE - India resume on 329 for six against Sri Lanka on the second day of the third and final test, with wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha on 13 and Hardik Pandya on one for the tourists, who have an unassailable 2-0 series lead. (CRICKET-TEST-LKA-IND/ (PIX), expect by 0630 GMT/2:30 AM ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Astros take on Rangers

Righty Mike Fiers gets the call for the AL-west leading Houston Astros when they face the Texas Rangers and pitcher Tyson Ross while in the NL-west leading Los Angeles Dodgers host the San Diego Padres in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0600 GMT/2 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

MotoGP

Austrian Grand Prix

Championship leader Marquez on pole again

Honda's championship leader Marc Marquez takes his third straight pole after the Spaniard set the fastest time in qualifying at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg ahead of the factory Ducatis of Andrea Dovizioso and Jorge Lorenzo, who complete the front row. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-AUSTRIA/ (TV), 300 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

08/12/2017 20:02

News, Photo and Web Search