Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday:

OLYMPICS

Russia's Mutko says ready to resign over Olympic ban

MOSCOW - Russian Deputy Prime Minister Vitaly Mutko, who was banned for life from the Olympics this week, said on Thursday he was ready to resign over the International Olympic Committee's (IOC) decision to exclude Russia from the 2018 Winter Olympics. (OLYMPICS-2018/RUSSIA-MUTKO (UPDATE 1), moved, by Gabrielle Tétrault-Farber, 400 words)

SOCCER

Premier League

We will also bring you the latest team news plus managers' press conferences ahead of the weekend fixtures which include the top-of-the-table clash between Manchester United and leaders Manchester City at Old Trafford plus the Merseyside derby between Liverpool and Everton at Anfield (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAMX/)

GOLF

European Tour: Jo'burg Open

Davides leads by one stroke heading into second round

JOHANNESBURG - Local favorite Keenan Davidse holds a one-shot lead over a group of six players, including Englishmen James Morrison and Matthew Baldwin, heading into the second round. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, by Nick Said, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

FIA prize giving

Hamilton collects Formula One trophy at FIA awards

PARIS - Mercedes' four times Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton holds a news conference in Paris before receiving his trophy at a gala prizegiving with the winners of other series in Versailles. (MOTOR-F1-FIA/, (PIX, TV), expect by 1600GMT/11 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

CRICKET

The Ashes

Lyon's roar helps fire Australia to Ashes success

MELBOURNE - Nathan Lyon was always an unlikely inheritor of Shane Warne's title as Australia's top spinner but the man nicknamed GOAT has been integral to Australia's early success in the Ashes series. (CRICKET-ASHES/LYON, expect by 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, by Ian Ransom, 400 words)

NFL

Falcons host Saints in NFC South battle

Quarterback Marr Ryan and the Atlanta Falcons host Drew Breez and the New Orleans Saints in an NFC South matchup with playoff implications for both teams. (FOOTBALL-NFL-ATL-NO/, expect by 0515 GMT/12:15 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

NBA

Rockets face Jazz in Utah

The high-scoring Houston Rockets look to break through the vaunted Utah Jazz defense, while two squads with young cores, the Los Angeles Lakers and the 76ers, face off in Philadelphia in two of the four games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Penguins host Islanders in Pittsburgh

NHL champion Pittsburgh Penguins host the New York Islanders while the Los Angeles Kings look to extend their winning streak to seven games when they host the Ottawa Senators in two of the nine games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final

American Chen leads local favorite Uno, ladies start

NAGOYA - Nathan Chen of the United States leads Japan’s Shoma Uno heading into the men’s free program while the ladies event gets underway with the short program. (FIGURESKATING-ISU/FINAL (PIX), by Elaine Lies, 300 words) (Asia desk editor: Nick Mulvenney)

12/07/2017 19:01

News, Photo and Web Search