Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday, Sept 13

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:

OLYMPICS

IOC officially announces 2024 and 2028 Olympics hosts

LIMA - The International Olympic Committee (IOC) is expected to ratify the Paris bid to host the 2024 Games and the Los Angeles bid to stage the 2028 Olympics at the organization's 131st Session in Lima. (OLYMPICS-IOC/ (PIX, TV), expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET , by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Also see moved item OLYMPICS-2024/SAINTDENIS (PIX, TV)

SOCCER

Champions League (1845)

Group E

Liverpool v Sevilla

Maribor v Spartak Moscow

Group F

Feyenoord v Manchester City

Shakhtar Donetsk v Napoli

Group G

Porto v Besiktas

RB Leipzig v Monaco

Group H

Real Madrid v APOEL Nicosia

Tottenham Hotspur v Borussia Dortmund

Real begin quest for third straight Champions League title

MADRID - Champions League holders Real Madrid begin their pursuit of a third consecutive European crown against Cypriot champions APOEL Nicosia boosted by the return of Cristiano Ronaldo, top scorer in the competition for the last five years, who is serving a domestic suspension. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MAD-APO/ (PIX), expect by 2045 GMT/4:5 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

We will also have match reports on all the night's other games. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-TEAM A-TEAM B (PIX))

Asian Champions League

Urawa thrash 10-man Kawasaki to reach Asian Champions League semis

HONG KONG - Urawa Red Diamonds will face Chinese Super League side Shanghai SIPG in the Asian Champions League semi-finals after recovering to thrash 10-man Kawasaki Frontale 4-1 on Wednesday. (SOCCER-ASIA/, moving shortly, 400 words)

GOLF

Spieth and Johnson discuss title prospects at Conway Farms

Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas and Dustin Johnson, the three leaders in the FedExCup standings, speak with the media on the eve of the penultimate event of the PGA Tour season at Conway Farms, where a field of 70 will tee up as the race for the $10 million bonus continues. (GOLF-BMW/ (PREVIEW), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

New Zealand v South Africa (16)

All Blacks coach Hansen likely to fortify team against Boks

WELLINGTON - All Blacks coach Steve Hansen is likely to bulk up his pack and make some changes to his back three as he names his side to face a resurgent Springboks on Saturday. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-NZL/TEAM (PIX), expect by 1730 GMT/1.30 PM ET, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

Singapore Formula One Grand Prix preview

Hamilton chasing Singapore hat-trick but wary of Ferrari

SINGAPORE - Lewis Hamilton arrives in Singapore as Formula One leader and the season's first back-to-back winner, but Ferrari rival Sebastian Vettel could dash the Mercedes driver's hopes of a third win in a row on Sunday. (MOTOR-F1-SINGAPORE/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Abhishek Takle, 400 words)

We have also moved statistics for the race and a drivers' form sheet.

BASEBALL

Nats’ Scherzer and Dodgers’ Darvish in action

Reigning National League Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer and the Washington Nationals host the Atlanta Braves while Japanese right-hander Yu Darvish tries to snap a three-game skid when his Los Angeles Dodgers visit the San Francisco Giants in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Europe desk editor: Ken Ferris)

09/13/2017 10:09

News, Photo and Web Search