Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Wednesday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Wednesday:

SOCCER

FIFA

U.S. govt witness in FIFA trial says media paid bribes

NEW YORK - A prosecution witness in the U.S. corruption trial of three former soccer officials testified on Tuesday that Fox Sports, Mexico's Grupo Televisa TLVACPO.MX and Brazil's Globo paid bribes to secure television rights for soccer matches. (SOCCER-FIFA/ (UPDATE 3), moved, by Brendan Pierson, 400 words)

World Cup qualifying

Intercontinental playoff

Australia v Honduras (0900)

Australia face Honduras for World Cup spot

SYDNEY - Australia and Honduras meet in the second leg of their intercontinental World Cup playoff at Sydney's Olympic Stadium having drawn the first leg 0-0. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-AUS-HND/ (PIX, TV), expect from 1100 GMT/6 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

Premier League

We'll bring you all the latest news as the Premier league returns this weekend kicking off with Arsenal facing north London rivals Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday in our showpiece game. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/ (PIX), expect throughout)

TENNIS

ATP Finals (to 19)

Dimitrov faces Goffin for semi-final spot

LONDON - Bulgaria's Grigor Dimitrov will reach the semi-finals by beating Belgian David Goffin, who needs a staight sets victory to clinch a place in the last four while a three-set triumph means he will need Pablo Carreno Busta to beat Dominic Thiem. (TENNIS-ATPFINALS/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

RUGBY

Rugby World Cup 2023 host country to be announced

LONDON - The hosts for the 2023 Rugby World Cup will be announced, with South Africa having been recommended by World Rugby's Board after an evaluation report but with Ireland and France hoping to spring a surprise by snatching the honors. (RUGBY-UNION-2023/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Mitch Phillips and Ian Chadband, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

Formula E CEO Agag and Jaguar team speak to media

LONDON - Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag, Panasonic Jaguar Racing Team Director James Barclay and driver Mitch Evans to talk to the media about the upcoming season. (MOTOR-ELECTRIC/JAGUAR, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

NBA

Red-hot Rockets host Raptors

The Western Conference leading Houston Rockets look for their seventh straight win when they host the Toronto Raptors in before the San Antonio Spurs visit the Dallas Mavericks in two of the three games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Capitals face Predators

The Washington Capitals battle the Nashville Predators while the Columbus Blue Jackets face the Montreal Canadiens in two of the of the eight games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

(Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

11/14/2017 19:01

News, Photo and Web Search