Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday:

SOCCER

Premier League (1500 unless stated)

Chelsea v Leicester City

Crystal Palace v Burnley

Huddersfield Town v West Ham United

Newcastle United v Swansea City

Watford v Southampton

West Bromwich Albion v Brighton & Hove Albion

Tottenham Hotspur v Everton (1730)

Chelsea, Spurs continue battle for top four

LONDON - Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur continue their bid for top four spots with home games against Leicester City and Everton respectively while the several teams resume their battle against relegation. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), by Neil Robinson and Ian Chadband, expect from 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 500 words)

La Liga

Girona v Las Palmas (1200)

Real Madrid v Villarreal (1515)

Eibar v Atlético Madrid (1730)

Deportivo La Coruña v Valencia (1945)

Faltering Real meet Villarreal, Atleti take on Eibar

MADRID - Real Madrid face Villarreal at home looking for a victory to help revive their league form after falling 16 points behind leaders Barcelona, while second-placed Atletico Madrid visit Eibar without banned striker Diego Costa. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/1.15 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Bundesliga (1430 unless stated)

Werder Bremen v Hoffenheim

Eintracht Frankfurt v Freiburg

Augsburg v Hamburger SV

Hanover 96 v Mainz 05

Stuttgart v Hertha BSC

RB Leipzig v Schalke 04 (1830)

Schalke look to cut gap on leaders Bayern

BERLIN - Second-placed Schalke visit Leipzig looking to cut the 14-point gap to leaders Bayern Munich who stretched their lead with a win at fourth-placed Bayer Leverkusen on Friday. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

Ligue 1 (1900 unless stated)

Rennes v Olympique Marseille (1600)

Caen v Lille

Dijon v Metz

Montpellier v AS Monaco

Nice v Amiens SC

Troyes v Bordeaux

Monaco visit Montpellier in bid to cut gap at the top

PARIS - Second-placed AS Monaco, who trail leaders Paris St Germain by nine points, visit Montpellier while Olympique de Marseille in fourth travel to Stade Rennais as Ligue 1 action resumes after the winter break. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

TENNIS

Australian Open (15-28)

Nadal, Djokovic hold news conferences at Melbourne Park

AUSTRALIA - Top seed Rafa Nadal and six-times champion Novak Djokovic are among the leading players previewing the tournament during media conferences at Melbourne Park. (TENNIS-AUSOPEN/, expect throughout, by Ian Ransom, 400 words)

Sydney International

Kerber faces local hope Barty in in Sydney final

SYDNEY - Former world number one Angelique Kerber looks for her ninth win in as many matches this year when she takes on local hope Ashleigh Barty in the final. (TENNIS-SYDNEY/ (PIX), expect by 0900 GMT/4 AM ET, 300 words)

Hobart International

Champion Mertens plays Buzarnescu in Hobart final

HOBART - Holder Elise Mertens of Belgium takes on Mihaela Buzarnescu of Romania in the Hobart International final. (TENNIS-HOBART/WOMEN, expect by 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, 300 words)

Auckland Classic

Bautista Agut continues to shine in Auckland

AUCKLAND - Roberto Bautista Agut continued to shine in New Zealand when the Spaniard won his second Auckland Classic title with a 6-1 4-6 7-5 victory over second seed Juan Martin Del Potro. (TENNIS-AUCKLAND/MEN, moved, 400 words)

GOLF

South African Open

Saddier shares lead with Paisley in South Africa

JOHANNESBURG - Adrien Saddier of France shares the lead with England's Chris Paisley at 13-under-par heading into the third round of the European Tour's South African Open.(GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 300 words)

EurAsia Cup (to 14)

Asia go into second day with one-point lead

KUALA LUMPUR - Asia go into Saturday's foursomes with a one-point lead over defending champions Europe on the second day of the biennial EurAsia Cup event at the Glenmarie Golf and Country Club. (GOLF-EURASIA/, expect by 1000 GMT/5 AM ET, 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Sony Open, Honolulu, Hawaii (to 14)

Third round action from the Sony Open at Waialae Country Club on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. (GOLF-SONYOPEN/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v India, second test

South Africa host India on seamer-friendly wicket

PRETORIA - South Africa host India in the second of the three-test series at Centurion, with another seamer-friendly wicket expected at what is a favorite venue for the home side as they look to wrap up the series. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-IND/, expect throughout, by Nick Said, 400 words)

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup

Local hope Feuz takes on Norwegians Svindal and Lansrud

WENGEN, Switzerland - Switzerland's Beat Feuz is the best hope for a home win in the downhill at Wengen, while Norwegians Aksel Lund Svindal and Kjetil Lansrud are also among the favorites for one of the most challenging and high-profile races of the World Cup season. (ALPINE SKIING/MEN, expect at 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, By Brian Homewood, 300 words)

Women's World Cup

Vonn looks for first downhill win of the season

BAD KLEINKIRCHHEIM, Austria - American Lindsey Vonn will attempt to win her first World Cup downhill race of the season and her second in all disciplines. (ALPINE SKIING/WOMEN (PIX), expect at 1100 AM GMT/7 AM ET, 200 words)

FIGURE SKATING

Canada's top figure skaters, including nine time national champion Patrick Chan and world medallists Kaetlyn Osmond and Gabrielle Daleman, vie for spots on the Canadian Olympic team at the national championships in Vancouver. (FIGURESKATING-CANCHAMP/, expect by 0445 GMT/11:45 PM ET, 300 words)

WINTER OLYMPICS

We are moving a series of features and previews ahead of the Feb. 9-25 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Shoma Uno

TOKYO - Shoma Uno first stepped on a rink aged five but with the rough-and-tumble of skating in his sights. Fifteen years later he is hard on the heels of his famed countryman, Yuzuru Hanyu, but still in his shadow. (OLYMPICS-2018-FIGS/UNO (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Elaine Lies, 600 words)

Wakaba Higuchi

TOKYO - Wakaba Higuchi makes her Olympics debut in an unusual rebuilding year for Japanese women in a nation of rabid skating fans. (OLYMPICS-2018-FIGS/HIGUCHI (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Elaine Lies, 700 words)

Patrick Chan

TORONTO - Patrick Chan hopes it will be third time lucky as he tries again for gold after settling for silver in 2014 - but the Canadian ruefully acknowledges his biggest enemy may be himself. (OLYMPICS-2018-FIGS/CHAN (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Steve Keating, 600 words)

NFL

Falcons tangle with Eagles

The Atlanta Falcons, last year's Super Bowl losers, try to knock off the National Football Conference's top team, the Philadelphia Eagles in an NFL divisional round playoff game. (FOOTBALL-NFL-PHI-ATL/, expect by 0130 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

Patriots start chase for Super Bowl title against Titans

The reigning Super Bowl champions the New England Patriots begin their quest for another NFL title when the underdog Tennessee Titans visit for an American Football Conference division round playoff game. (FOOTBALL-NFL-NEP-TEN/, expect by 0515 GMT/12:15 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

NBA

Warriors, Raptors clash in Toronto

The Golden State Warriors, the top team in the Western Conference, travel to Toronto for a clash with the Raptors, the East's number two team, and the San Antonio Spurs are home to the struggling Denver Nuggets in two of the seven games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

NHL

Jets take off for Minnesota

The Winnipeg Jets take on the Minnesota Wild in a Central Division clash while Atlantic Division members the Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens meet up in Montreal in two of the nine games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

RALLYING

Dakar rally, stage seven

Stage seven of the Dakar Rally goes from La Paz to the Uyuni salt lake in Bolivia. (MOTOR-RALLY-DAKAR/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

HANDBALL

Men's European championship (to 28)

ZAGREB - We will provide an end-of-day wrap from the Men's European Handball Championship in Croatia. (HANDBALL-EUROPE/, by Zoran Milosavljevic)

(Asia Desk Editor: Greg Stutchbury)

01/13/2018 1:00

News, Photo and Web Search