Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

TENNIS

Australian Open (from 15)

Federer talks up title defense

MELBOURNE - Roger Federer says a 36-year-old should not really be considered a favorite for the Australian Open, although when the man in question is himself no one was taking him seriously. (TENNIS-AUSOPEN/FEDERER (PIX), moved, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

SOCCER

Premier League

Bournemouth v Arsenal (1330)

Liverpool v Manchester City (1600)

Runaway leaders City visit Liverpool, Arsenal at Bournemouth

LONDON - Premier league leaders Manchester City travel to Anfield to face a Liverpool side without Philippe Coutinho after the midfielder's move to Barcelona, while Arsenal travel to the south-coast to take on Bournemouth. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from 1530 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Tom Hayward, 500 words)

Palace coup good for Serbian midfielder in World Cup year

LONDON - Roy Hodgson's Crystal Palace revolution can help Luka Milivojevic secure his place in Serbia's team for the World Cup finals in Russia, the midfielder said in an exclusive interview after captaining his club side in Saturday's 1-0 Premier League win over Burnley. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-CRY/MILIVOJEVIC (INTERVIEW, PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/8 AM ET, by Rex Gowar, 600 words)

La Liga

Levante v Celta de Vigo (1100)

Alaves v Sevilla (1515)

Espanyol v Athletic Bilbao (1730)

Real Sociedad v Barcelona (1945)

Barca aim to scratch Anoeta itch

SAN SEBASTIAN-Barcelona are riding high at the top of La Liga but face their least-favorite away trip in the league on Sunday as they visit Real Sociedad, where they are without a win in La Liga since May 2007. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 2145 GMT/4.45 PM ET, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

Bundesliga (1430 unless stated)

FC Cologne v Borussia M'gladbach (1430)

Borussia Dortmund v Wolfsburg (1700)

BERLIN - Runaway Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich host Wolfsburg. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect from 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

Ligue 1

Saint-Etienne v Toulouse (1400)

Olympique Lyonnais v Angers SCO (1600)

Nantes v Paris St Germain (2000)

PARIS - League leaders Paris St Germain travel to Nanates while third-placed Lyon host Angers. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

GOLF

EurAsia Cup (to 14)

Hosts Asia lead by one point ahead of final day's singles

KUALA LUMPUR - Asia have a one-stroke lead over defending champions Europe going into the final day's singles in the EurAsia Cup in the third edition of the biennial event at the Glenmarie Golf and Country Club in Kuala Lumpur. (GOLF-EURASIA/, expect by 1000 GMT/5 AM ET, 300 words)

South African Open

England's Chris Paisley holds a one-shot lead going into the final round of the South African Open at the Glendower Golf Club outside of Johannesburg, leaving him on course for his first European Tour title. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 300 words)

PGA Tour: Sony Open, Honolulu, Hawaii (to 14) Final round action from the Sony Open at Waialae Country Club on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. (GOLF-SONYOPEN/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v India, second test

PRETORIA - South Africa will resume on 269 for six on day two of the second test against India, seeking a large first innings total on a wicket that is already showing variable bounce (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-IND/, expect by 1300 GMT/1 PM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

Australia meet England in opening ODI

MELBOURNE - Australia, fresh from their 4-0 Ashes triumph, face England in the opener of the five-match one-day series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. (CRICKET-ODI-AUS-ENG/, 300 words)

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup

Dominant Hirscher looks for another win

WENGEN, Switzerland - Austria's Marcel Hirscher looks to move closer to a seventh successive overall World Cup skiing title by winning the slalom at Wengen, which would be his fourth win in a row in all categories. (ALPINE-SKIING/MEN, expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, By Brian Homewood, 300 words)

Vonn looks for first downhill win of the season

BAD KLEINKIRCHHEIM, Austria - American Lindsey Vonn looks for her first downhill win of the season provided that Sunday's race, doubtful due to bad weather, goes ahead. (ALPINE-SKIING/WOMEN, expect by 1300 GMT/ 9 AM ET, 200 words)

FIGURE SKATING

Canada selects figure skaters for Pyeongchang Games

Canadian figure skating, which is expected to be a major factor in next month's Olympics, names its team for the Pyeongchang Games following the national championships in Vancouver. (OLYMPICS-2018-FIGS/CANADA-TEAM/, expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

NFL

Jaguars try for another upset in Pittsburgh

The underdog Jacksonville Jaguars, who handed the Pittsburgh Steelers one of their three regular season losses, try to pull off another upset when the AFC teams meet in Pittsburgh in an NFL divisional round playoff game. (FOOTBALL-NFL-PIT-JAC/, expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

Vikings bid for repeat win over Saints

Quarterback Case Keenum, who was not even in the game when the Minnesota Vikings beat the New Orleans Saints to open the regular season, will try to guide the Vikings past the Saints and Drew Brees in an NFC divisional playoff game in Minnesota. (FOOTBALL-NFL-MIN-NO/, expect by 0200 GMT/9 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

NBA

Hot Heat risk streak against Bucks

The Miami Heat put a six-game winning streak on the line when the Milwaukee Bucks visit in one of the four games on the National Basketball Associations schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

RALLYING

Dakar Rally eighth stage in Bolivia

Stage eight of the Dakar Rally goes from Uyuni salt lake to Tupiza in Bolivia. (MOTOR-RALLY-DAKAR/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

HANDBALL

Men's European championship (to 28)

ZAGREB - Hosts Croatia clash with Iceland after both nations won regional derbies in their opening fixtures at the European handball championship, while world title holders France face unheralded Austria (HANDBALL-EUROPE/(PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 300 words).

WINTER OLYMPICS

We are moving a series of features and previews ahead of the Feb. 9-25 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Speed skating

The advance of technology

LONDON - Caring for the ice is as demanding as looking after the lawns at Wimbledon or the greens of Augusta and we will look at how technology and science are helping ice masters provide the sort of marginal gains that help skaters reach faster speeds at lower altitudes. (OLYMPICS-2018-SKAT/TECH (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Simon Jennings, 600 words)

Masterful Dutch keen to retain crown on Gangneung ice

LONDON - The Netherlands dominated in Sochi and you would not bet against them pulling off several more clean sweeps on the ice in Gangneung. We will explore how the increase in Dutch dominance has coincided with a dip in the sports popularity in many of its other traditional powerhouses. (OLYMPICS-2018-SKAT/DUTCH (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Simon Jennings, 600 words)

(Asia Desk Editor: Greg Stutchbury)

01/14/2018 1:00

News, Photo and Web Search