Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:


Champions League

Besiktas v Bayern Munich (1700)

Barcelona v Chelsea (1945)

Bayern look to wrap up last eight spot at Besiktas

ISTANBUL - Bayern Munich take a 5-0 lead to Besiktas as they look to seal a place in the quarter-finals at Vodafone Park. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-BES-BAY/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Unbeaten Barca host Chelsea in delicately poised second leg

BARCELONA - La Liga leaders Barcelona host English champions Chelsea in the second leg of their last 16 tie, which is delicately balanced at 1-1, having not been knocked out of the competition at this stage since 2007. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-FCB-CHE/, expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

Serie A

Juventus v Atalanta (1700)

Juventus have chance to go four points clear

MILAN - Serie A leaders Juventus will open up a four point lead over Napoli if they beat Atalanta at home in their game in hand as they bid to win the title for a seventh straight season. (SOCCER-ITALY-JUV-ATA/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 300 words)

Ligue 1

Paris St Germain v Angers (1600)

PARIS - Leaders Paris St Germain face lowly Angers at the Parc de Princes with a spate of injuries but knowing a win will take them 17 points clear of second-placed Monaco. (SOCCER-FRANCE-PSG-ANG/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 300 words)

Asian Champions League

Guangzhou Evergrande take on Jeju United

HONG KONG - Two-time champions Guangzhou Evergrande travel to South Korea to take on Jeju United as Fabio Cannavaro's side look to move a step closer to the knockout rounds of the Asian Champions League. (SOCCER-ASIA/ expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 500 words)

World Cup

Former Argentina forward Crespo talks to Reuters

GENEVA - We bring you an interview with ex-Argentina forward Hernan Crespo who discusses his country's chances at this year's World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-ARGENTINA/CRESPO, expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)


Twenty20 Tri-Series in Sri Lanka

COLOMBO - Neighbours India and Bangladesh meet for the second time in the tournament at Colombo's R Premadasa Stadium. (CRICKET-T20-TRI/, expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 300 words)

Winning India rights will give Sony monopoly - executive

MUMBAI - Adding the rights to broadcast cricket in England and Australia across the subcontinent gave Sony Pictures Networks a dominant position in the sport but winning the rights to India would give it a monopoly, a senior company executive has told Reuters. (CRICKET-MEDIA/SONY (INTERVIEW), moved, by Sudipto Ganguly, 535 words)


Scotland name team to face Italy

Scotland wing Tommy Seymour has recovered from a bad back and there is a place on the bench for long-term absentee Richie Gray as coach Gregor Townsend made five changes to his team to face Italy in their Six Nations finale in Rome on Saturday.(RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-SCO/, moved, 300 words)


Formula One season preview package

We have moved the first two parts of a preview package for the start of the season in Australia on March 25.

The four stories which moved at 0300 GMT/11 PM ET were be about Ferrari, Red Bull, McLaren and the new halo head protection system. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/FERRARI, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/REDBULL, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/MCLAREN, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/HALO).

The package will continue on Thursday and Friday.


Woods brings comeback to happy hunting ground

ORLANDO - Tiger Woods takes his rousing comeback tour to one of his favorite haunts - Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill layout, where the 14-times major winner has triumphed eight times.(GOLF-PALMER/, moved, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

Woods, Els named as Presidents' Cup captains

ORLANDO - Tiger Woods and Ernie Els shifted their decades-long friendly rivalry onto the international stage as they were officially named captains for the 2019 Presidents Cup.(GOLF-PRESIDENTSCUP/CAPTAINS, moved, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

Garcia delivers thoughts on Masters while wife gives birth

Winning a Masters did not change Sergio Garcia but the Spaniard was poised to have his life turned upside down on Tuesday as he discussed his Green Jacket defense while in a Texas hospital awaiting the birth of his first child. (GOLF-MASTERS/GARCIA, moved, by Steve Keating, 400 words)


ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 18)

Halep faces Martic in quarter-final clash at Indian Wells

World No. 1 Simona Halep, fresh off trouncing Wang Qiang in the fourth round on Tuesday, faces off against Croatian Petra Martic in the quarter-finals at the BNP Paribas Open. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

Federer back in action in Indian Wells

World No. 1 Roger Federer continues his quest for a record sixth Indian Wells championship when he battles unseeded Frenchman Jeremy Chardy in their fourth round match at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)


Warriors battle Lakers in Oakland

The defending champion Golden State Warriors host an improved Los Angeles Lakers at Oracle Arena while in the Eastern Conference the Washington Wizards hope to make up ground on the Boston Celtics team in two of the four games on the schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


Golden Knights go for fourth straight against Devils

The Las Vegas Golden Knights look to extend their sizable lead in the Pacific Division when they host the New Jersey Devils while the defending champion Pittsburgh Penguins visit the New York Rangers in two of the five games on the schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 750 words)


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Europe Desk Editor: Christian Radnedge)

03/14/2018 10:00

News, Photo and Web Search