Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Monday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Monday:

TENNIS

French Open

Day two

Tennis-Nadal opens his defense at Roland Garros

PARIS - World number one Rafa Nadal begins his French Open title defense with a clash against Italy's Simone Bolelli on Court Philippe-Chatrier. Five-times grand slam champion Maria Sharapova is also in action, with the Russian taking on Richel Hogenkamp of the Netherlands on Court Suzanne-Lenglen.(TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/ (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Richard Lough, Ossian Shine, Pritha Sarkar and Julien Pretot, 500 words)

SOCCER

Uruguayan Jose Batista was sent off after just 55 seconds of the 1986 World Cup match against Scotland. He still holds the record for receiving the fastest red card in World Cup history. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-URY/BATISTA (INTERVIEW, PIX, TV), by Andrew Downie)

McAteer backs Alexander-Arnold to shine for England

Jason McAteer is backing Trent Alexander-Arnold to shine for England after taking a similar path to his own as the youngster prepares to travel to Russia with England. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ENG/ALEXANDER-ARNOLD, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Michael Church, 500 words)

International friendlies

South Korea v Honduras 1900 GMT

Nigeria v DR Congo 1800

Turkey v Iran 2115

Portugal v Tunisia 1945

Italy v Saudi Arabia 2045

France v Ireland 2100

(SOCCER-WORLDCUP-XXX-XXX/, PIX)

RUGBY

New Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus holds a media conference as the team get ready to depart for Washington for their test against Wales on June 2. (RUGBY-UNION-ZAF/, expect after 1000 GMT/6 AM ET)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Fort Worth Invitational, Fort Worth, Texas

Rose triumphs at Colonial for ninth PGA tour win

Englishman Justin Rose used a blistering start to cruise to his second win of the PGA Tour season with a three-shot victory at the Fort Worth Invitational. (GOLF-FTWORTH/, moved, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: LPGA Volvik Championship, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Final round action from Travis Pointe Country Club. (GOLF-WOMEN/VOLVIK, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 300 words)

LPGA: U.S. Open

Swede Lindberg seeks back-to-back major wins

Pernilla Lindberg was ecstatic to win the first major of 2018, but acknowledges that the U.S Women's Open is the biggest championship in their game. (GOLF-WOMEN/USCHAMP-LINDBERG, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Andrew Both, 440 words)

NBA

Cavs face Celtics in decisive Game Seven LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers visit the Boston Celtics for a decisive Game Seven of the Eastern Conference Finals. (BASKETBALL-NBA-BOS-CLE/, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

BASEBALL

Yankees battle Angels, Astros face Indians

Masahiro Tanaka gets the call for the New York Yankees when they host the Los Angeles Angles while the Houston Astros will send Gerrit Cole to the mound to face Trevor Bauer and the Cleveland Indians in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Greg Stutchbury)

05/27/2018 20:01

News, Photo and Web Search