REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6 p.m. GMT/2 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 p.m. GMT/2 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

US-BASKETBALL-NBA/

NBA roundup: Spurs' OT victory keeps Lakers winless

Patty Mills drilled a jumper with seven seconds remaining in overtime to cap a 7-0 run in the final 55 seconds and lift the San Antonio Spurs to a wild 143-142 win over the host Los Angeles Lakers on Monday.

US-GOLF-TAIWAN-CHINA-EXCLUSIVE/

Exclusive: Chinese women golfers told to pull out of Taiwan event - sources

Chinese players on the elite U.S. professional women’s golf tour have pulled out of this week’s tournament in Taiwan at the 11th hour, after being told by someone “high up” in China to skip the event, sources familiar with the situation told Reuters.

US-BASEBALL-MLB-LAD-BOS-WORLDSERIES-PITC/

Dodgers' Kershaw ready to face Sale in Fenway debut

In 11 major league seasons, Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw never has pitched at Fenway Park.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-AFRICA-CHAMPIONS/ (PIX)

Soccer - African Champions League

Egypt's Al Ahly have a 2-0 lead over Entente Setif of Algeria going into the second leg of the Champions League semifinal in Setif while Primeiro Agosto of Angola take a slender 1-0 lead to their semifinal, second leg tie at Esperance of Tunisia.

23 Oct, 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MAD-VPL/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Real Madrid v Viktoria Plzen

Real Madrid host Viktoria Plzen in the Champions League, having lost their last outing in the competition, going down 1-0 to CKSA Moscow.

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ROM-CSK/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - AS Roma v CSKA Moscow

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-TSG-LYO/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - 1899 Hoffenheim v Olympique Lyonnais

1899 Hoffenheim competes with Olympique Lyonnais.

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MUN-JUV/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Manchester United v Juventus

Manchester United welcome Juventus and Crisitano Ronaldo to Old Trafford for their latest Champions League match.

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-AJA-SLB/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Ajax Amsterdam v Benfica

Soccer - Champions League - Ajax Amsterdam v Benfica

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-PSV-TOT/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - PSV Eindhoven v Tottenham Hotspur

After losing their opening two games, both teams need a win to revive their hopes of reaching the last 16.

24 Oct, 12:55 ET / 16:55 GMT

SOCCER-AFCCHAMPIONS/

Soccer - Asian Champions League - Semi-final, second leg

Asian Champions League semi-final, second leg.

24 Oct, 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-BRU-AMO/ (PIX)

Soccer - Champions League - Club Brugge v AS Monaco

Soccer - Champions League - Club Brugge v AS Monaco

24 Oct, 12:55 ET / 16:55 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-ODI-IND-WIN/

Cricket- India v West Indies - 2nd ODI

Second one-day international in Indore.

24 Oct, 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-WTAFINALS/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - WTA Tour Finals

The WTA Tour host the WTA Finals (year-end championships) hardcourt tournament in Singapore.

24 Oct, 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

TENNIS-BASEL/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 500 - Basel Open

The ATP hosts a World Tour 500 event in Basel.

Oct 24

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-F1-MEXICO/

Motor racing-Mexican Grand Prix preview and statistics

Lewis Hamilton won his fourth Formula One title in Mexico last year and the Mercedes driver looks set to clinch his fifth at the same track on Sunday.

24 Oct, 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

AUTORACING-NASCAR-GLANCE/

Field Level Media-Auto racing glance

Capsule previews of the weekend ahead in professional golf.

Expect by 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

BASEBALL

BASEBALL-MLB-BOS-LAD/ (PIX) (TV)

Baseball - World Series - Boston Red Sox v Los Angeles Dodgers

Boston Red Sox host Los Angeles Dodgers in game one of the World Series.

23 Oct, 20:09 ET / 00:09 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-SHANGHAI/

Golf - WGC-HSBC Champions preview

Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy, Brooks Koepka, Francesco Molinari and Patrick Reed are all expected to play in the WGC-HSBC Champions tournament in Shanghai.

24 Oct, 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

GOLF-PGA-GLANCE/

Field Level Media-Golf glance

Capsule previews of the week ahead in professional golf.

23 Oct, 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

FOOTBALL

FOOTBALL-NFL-FILMSTUDY/

Field Level Media-Film study: How the Lions’ run game finally arrived

Rookie running back Kerryon Johnson is just one of the new pieces to the developing running game that has the Detroit Lions looking balanced, writes NFL analyst David DeChant.

23 Oct, 16:00 ET /20:00 GMT

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK/

Field Level Media-NFL notebook

News and notes from around the NFL.

23 Oct, 19:30 ET /23:30 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAL-WALTON/

Field Level Media-Walton rips officiating, Lakers still winless

LeBron James missed two free throws with a chance to put the Spurs away on Monday night, but Lakers coach Luke Walton pinned the latest L.A. loss on officials.

23 Oct, 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-NOTEBOOK/

Field Level Media-NBA notebook

News and notes from around the NBA.

23 Oct, 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

10/23/2018 14:04

News, Photo and Web Search