REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT.

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

SPORTS

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRH-LIV/

Klopp confident Liverpool's defensive injuries just short term

Liverpool's central defensive injury problems should be cleared up soon, manager Juergen Klopp said as the Premier League leaders prepare for Saturday's test at Brighton & Hove Albion.

TENNIS-HOBART/

Kenin upsets Cornet to reach Hobart final

Big-hitting American youngster Sofia Kenin reached her first WTA final when she stunned sixth seed Alize Cornet 6-2 6-4 at the Hobart International on Friday.

GOLF-SONYOPEN/

Svensson shoots flawless 61 as Spieth struggles in Hawaii

Adam Svensson shot a stunning nine-under-par 61 to take a one-stroke lead as Jordan Spieth struggled in the opening round of the Sony Open in Hawaii on Thursday.

UPCOMING

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-RALLY-DAKAR/ (PIX) (TV)

Rallying - Dakar Rally

Peru hosts the 2019 Dakar Rally - stage five is from Moquegua to Tacna.

11 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

MOTOR-RALLY/ (TV)

Rallying - World Rally Championship 2019 season launch

The World Rally Championships holds the official launch for the 2019 season at the Autosport International in Birmingham.

12 Jan 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-FRANCE-LYO-REI/ (PIX)

Soccer - France - Ligue 1 - Lyon v Reims

French soccer match where Olympique Lyonnais face Reims in their first Ligue 1 game of 2019.

11 Jan 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

SOCCER-ASIANCUP-VNM-IRN/

Soccer - AFC Asian Cup - Vietnam v Iran

Vietnam play Iran in the AFC Asian Cup Group D match at Abu Dhabi's Al Nahyan Stadium.

12 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-ASIANCUP-KGZ-KOR/ (PIX)

Soccer - AFC Asian Cup - Kyrgyzstan v South Korea

Kyrgyzstan play South Korea at the Hazza bin Zayed Stadium in Al Ain.

11 Jan 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-ASIANCUP-YEM-IRQ/

Soccer - AFC Asian Cup - Yemen v Iraq

Yemen play Iraq in their AFC Asian Cup Group D match at the Sharjah Stadium.

12 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-WHU-ARS/REPORT

Soccer - England - Premier League - West Ham United v Arsenal

West Ham United welcome Arsenal to the London Stadium.

12 Jan 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-HOBART/ (PIX)

Tennis - WTA International - Hobart International

The WTA hosts a Premier International event in Hobart, Australia.

12 Jan

TENNIS-AUSOPEN/

Tennis - Nadal, Halep preview Australian Open

Former champion Rafa Nadal and women's top seed Simona Halep preview the Australian Open among leading contenders at Melbourne Park

12 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

TENNIS-SYDNEY/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - WTA Premier - Sydney International

Action from the Sydney International final.

12 Jan 23:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

TENNIS-SYDNEY/ (PIX)

Tennis - ATP 250 - Sydney International

The ATP hosts a World Tour 250 tournament in Sydney.

12 Jan

TENNIS-AUCKLAND/

Tennis - ATP 250 - Auckland Classic

The ATP hosts a World Tour 250 event in Auckland, New Zealand.

12 Jan

CRICKET

CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-PAK/ (PIX)

Cricket - South Africa v Pakistan - Third Test

The final test of the three test series between South Africa and Pakistan is hosted at the Wanderers in Johannesburg

12 Jan 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

CRICKET-ODI-AUS-IND/ (PIX)

Cricket - Australia v India, first ODI, Sydney

Australia play India in the first one-day international at the Sydney Cricket Ground

12 Jan 21:20 ET / 02:20 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-SONYOPEN/

Golf - PGA Tour - Sony Open in Hawaii third round

Coverage of the PGA Tour event at Waialae Country Club in Honolulu.

12 Jan

01/11/2019 8:59

News, Photo and Web Search