REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

TENNIS-CINCINNATI-WOMEN/

Venus stuns holder Bertens in Cincinnati, Serena withdraws

Former world number one Venus Williams, playing what she called “smart” tennis, beat defending champion Kiki Bertens 6-3 3-6 7-6(4) in the second round of the Cincinnati Masters on Tuesday before her sister Serena withdrew due to back problems.

GOLF-WOODS/

Woods ready to play in BMW Championship

Tiger Woods says he is ready to play golf again this week after the former world number one withdrew from last week’s Northern Trust due to back pain.

FOOTBALL-NFL-NYG-MARA-QUARTERBACKS/

Giants owner hopes rookie QB Jones won't have to play

New York Giants owner John Mara is rooting for Eli Manning. Asked by SNY what he thought an ideal 2019 season would look like, Mara said the 38-year-old Manning is the Giants’ present and rookie first-rounder Daniel Jones is the franchise’s future.

UPCOMING

TENNIS

TENNIS-CINCINNATI/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Cincinnati Masters

Action from day three of the Cincinnati Masters - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

14 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

TENNIS-CINCINNATI/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Cincinnati Masters

Action from day four of the Cincannti Masters - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event.

14 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-SUPER-LIV-CHE/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - UEFA Super Cup - Liverpool v Chelsea

European champions Liverpool face the Europa League champions Chelsea in the UEFA Super Cup in Istanbul.

14 Aug 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/PREVIEW

Soccer - Spain - La Liga season preview

A preview of the La Liga season which begins on Friday with champions Barcelona visiting Athletic Bilbao.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-ASHES/ (PIX)

Cricket - Ashes 2019 - Second Test - England v Australia

England play Australia in the second test at Lord's.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-BLEDISLOE-NZL-AUS/

Rugby Union - Bledisloe Cup - New Zealand v Australia

New Zealand and Australia will both name their sides for the deciding Bledisloe Cup clash at Eden Park in Auckland

15 Aug 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-BLEDISLOE-NZL-AUS/

Rugby Union - Bledisloe Cup - New Zealand v Australia

An angry New Zealand side, stung by a record defeat at the hands of the Wallabies last week in Perth, will be keen to end any discussions they are a side in decline just five weeks out from the World Cup.

15 Aug 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP/HUMIDITY (TV)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Humidity set to be major challenge for rugby players at World Cup

When the Rugby World Cup kicks off next month in Japan, the world's top players can expect to face challenging humid conditions.

15 Aug

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-WAL-ENG/ (PIX)

Rugby Union - Wales team announcement news conference

Wales head coach Warren Gatland announces his team to play England and then later speaks to the media ahead of their Rugby World Cup warm-up match against England.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

08/14/2019 13:52

News, Photo and Web Search