REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

CHINA-BASKETBALL-NBA/

China basketball fans wave national flags at arena in row over HK tweet

SHANGHAI/BEIJING (Reuters) - Hundreds of Chinese basketball fans waved national flags in a Shanghai arena on Thursday ahead of an NBA game between the Los Angeles Lakers and the Brooklyn Nets amid a huge backlash against a tweet backing anti-China protests in Hong Kong.

ATHLETICS-KIPCHOGE/

Kipchoge compares sub-two hour marathon to going to the moon

VIENNA (Reuters) - Kenya’s world record holder Eliud Kipchoge has compared running a sub two-hour marathon to going to the moon before his unofficial attempt in Vienna on Saturday to become the first athlete to break the barrier.

IRAN-SOCCER-WOMEN/

Iranian women attend first soccer match in 40 years

Iranian women entered the country’s national stadium in Tehran on Thursday after being able to purchase tickets for a national team game for the first time in 40 years.

UPCOMING

GYMNASTICS-WORLD/ (PIX) (TV)

2019 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships

Stuttgart hosts the 2019 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships. Day seven of the championships features the women's all-around final.

10 Oct 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-EURO-CZE-ENG/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Euro 2020 Qualifier - England news conference

England manager Gareth Southgate and a player speak to the media in Prague ahead of their Euro 2020 qualifier against Czech Republic.

10 Oct 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

SOCCER-EURO-NLD-NIR/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Euro 2020 Qualifier - Netherlands v Northern Ireland

The Netherlands can dislodge Northern Ireland out of second place in Group C of the Euro 2020 qualifiers if they take all three points in this sold-out clash in Rotterdam

10 Oct 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

SOCCER-EURO-CRO-HUN/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Euro 2020 Qualifier - Croatia v Hungary

Croatia play Hungary in Group E of the Euro 2020 qualifiers.

The match report will also include highlights of the group's other fixture, Slovakia v Wales.

10 Oct 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP/SCENARIOS (PIX)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Quarter-final qualification scenarios

A look at the qualification scenarios as teams battle for a place in the quarter-finals.

10 Oct 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-JPN-SCO/PREVIEW (TV)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Japan announce team to play Scotland

Japan coach Jamie Joseph names his team to face Scotland in their pivotal Rugby World Cup quarter-final match.

11 Oct 00:30 ET / 04:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-JPN-SCO/PREVIEW (TV)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Scotland name team to face Japan

Scotland coach Gregor Townsend names his team to face hosts Japan in their pivotal Rugby World Cup Pool A match.

11 Oct 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-AUS-GEO/ (PIX) (TV)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Australia v Georgia

Australia play Georgia in their Rugby World Cup Pool D game in Shizouka.

11 Oct 06:15 ET / 10:15 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-IRL-WSM/PREVIEW (PIX)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Ireland v Samoa - News conferences & training

Ireland prepare to play Samoa in their Rugby World Cup Pool A game in Fukuoka

11 Oct 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-EUROPEAN/

Golf - European Tour - Italian Open

Action from day two of the Italian Open at the Olgiata Golf Club in Rome.

11 Oct

GOLF-HOUSTON/

Golf - PGA Tour: Houston Open second round

Second round coverage from Golf Club of Houston in Humble, Texas.

11 Oct

MOTOR-F1-JAPAN/ (PIX) (TV)

Motor racing - Formula One - Japanese Grand Prix - Practice

Action from the first two practice sessions of the Japanese Grand Prix.

11 Oct 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

CRICKET-TEST-IND-ZAF/

Cricket - India v South Africa - Second test

India and South Africa meet in the second test at Ranchi.

11 Oct

ATHLETICS-CHICAGO/

Athletics-Former Salazar runners speak ahead of Chicago marathon

Defending champion Mo Farah and 2017 winner Galen Rupp, who were coached by recently-banned Alberto Salazar, speak to the media ahead of Sunday’s Chicago Marathon

11 Oct

TENNIS-SHANGHAI/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Shanghai Masters

Action from quarter-finals of the Shanghai Masters.

11 Oct 00:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

10/10/2019 13:58

News, Photo and Web Search