REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

ATHLETICS-USA-LYLES-COLEMAN/

Athletics: Lyles says Coleman must be more responsible after missed tests

World 200 meters champion Noah Lyles has said fellow American sprinter Christian Coleman must show more responsibility after he was provisionally suspended for breaching whereabouts rules.

TENNIS-PALERMO/

Tennis: Privilege to be back on court, says Palermo top seed Martic

Top seed Petra Martic said it would be a privilege to be back on court at the Palermo Ladies Open, which marks the return of the professional tennis season on Monday after shutdown due to the coronavirus outbreak.

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-RETURN/

Players focus on scoring and fighting not protests as NHL returns

TORONTO (Reuters) - There were goals and fights but no spectators or protests as the Carolina Hurricanes beat the New York Rangers 3-2 on Saturday and the National Hockey League delivered a businesslike relaunch of its coronavirus-hit season.

UPCOMING

SOCCER-CHINA/

Soccer - Chinese Super League - Round Two

Round up of the second round of the Chinese Super League, which is taking place in hubs in Dalian and Suzhou because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

2 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-NETHERLANDS/AJA (PIX)

Soccer-Ajax Amsterdam have to change style after Ziyech moves to Chelsea

Ajax Amsterdam will have to change their playing style after the sale of Hakim Ziyech to Chelsea and the possibility of up to six players leaving before the new season in the Netherlands starts, coach Erik ten Hag said as they began pre-season training on Saturday.

2 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-GEN-HEL/REPORT

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - Genoa v Verona

Genoa need to beat Verona to guarantee their place in Serie A next season. We will also include details on the match between Lecce, who are battling with Genoa to avoid the drop, and Parma.

2 Aug 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

GOLF-LPGA/

Golf - LPGA - Drive On Championship

Action from the LPGA Tour's new Drive On Championship in Ohio. The three-day tournament marks the return of the elite women’s professional golf circuit from its COVID-19 shutdown.

2 Aug 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

PARALYMPICS-2020/ (TV)

Paralympics-Schedule for rearranged Tokyo Paralympics announced

Tokyo 2020 announces the schedule for the rearranged Tokyo Paralympic Games in 2021.

3 Aug 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

CRICKET-ODI-ENG-IRL/PREVIEW

Cricket - Third One Day International - England & Ireland nets & news conferences

England and Ireland prepare for their third one day international at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

3 Aug 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

CRICKET-TEST-ENG-PAK/PREVIEW

Cricket - First Test - England & Pakistan nets & news conferences

England and Pakistan prepare for the first test of their three match series at Old Trafford.

3 Aug 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

TENNIS-PALERMO/

Tennis - WTA International - 31st Palermo Ladies Open

Day one of the 31st Palermo Ladies Open - a WTA International tournament which is the first professional event since March due to the disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

3 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

08/02/2020 14:00

News, Photo and Web Search