REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m.ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

MOTOR-F1-REDBULL/

Red Bull F1 team reveal their potential Mercedes-beater

LONDON, Feb 23 (Reuters) - Red Bull provided a glimpse on Tuesday of the Formula One car that Max Verstappen hopes will take him to a first title and end seven-times world champion Lewis Hamilton's reign with Mercedes.

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-BMG-MCI/PREVIEW

Gladbach ready to face best team in the world in City-Rose

MOENCHENGLADBACH, Germany, Feb 23 (Reuters) - Borussia Moenchengladbach coach Marco Rose heaped praise on their Champions League last 16 opponents Manchester City ahead of Wednesday's first leg, saying his players would be facing arguably the world's best team.

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LEE-SOU/PREVIEW

Southampton's Hasenhuettl relishing Bielsa battle

Feb 23 (Reuters) - Southampton manager Ralph Hasenhuettl says he is looking forward to pitting his wits against his Leeds United counterpart Marcelo Bielsa and expects Tuesday's Premier League fixture to be a battle of contrasting tactics and styles.

UPCOMING

SPORTS

SOCCER-BRAZIL/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - New Pele film latest in line of sports documentaries

A new film about Brazilian soccer star Pele is the latest in a series of documentaries on sporting legends that have redefined the form in what some are calling a golden age of sports film.

23 Feb 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/GAMBLING

Soccer - Gambling sponsor ban adds to Spanish clubs pain, could suppress market

Still reeling from unprecedented losses due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Spanish clubs face renewed financial pressure due to a law outlawing gambling sponsorship, which is expected to further drive down rates and increase the wealth gap between sides.

23 Feb 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-FRA-SCO/

Rugby - Six Nations Championship - Scotland news conference

Scotland hold a news conference with several players and coaching staff members as they look ahead to their Six Nations clash against France in Paris on Sunday.

23 Feb 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ATT-MAD/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Real Madrid news conference & training

Real Madrid prepare for the first leg of their last-16 Champions league tie to Atalanta.

23 Feb 12:15 ET / 17:15 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LEE-SOU/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Leeds United v Southampton

Leeds take on Southampton in the Premier League

23 Feb 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-LAZ-BAY/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Lazio v Bayern Munich

Lazio face Bayern Munich in the first leg of their last-16 Champions league tie.

23 Feb 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ATM-CHE/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Atletico Madrid v Chelsea

Atletico Madrid face Chelsea in the first leg of their last-16 Champions league tie in Bucharest.

23 Feb 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-CLE-ATL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Cleveland Cavaliers v Atlanta Hawks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, Cleveland, Ohio

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-OTT-MTL/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Ottawa Senators v Montreal Canadiens

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Canadian Tire Centre, Kanata, Ontario

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CBJ-CHI/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Columbus Blue Jackets v Chicago Blackhawks

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-ORL-DET/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Orlando Magic v Detroit Pistons

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amway Center, Orlando, Florida

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NJD-NYI/ (PIX)

CANCELLED - Hockey - NHL - New Jersey Devils v New York Islanders

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Prudential Center, Newark, New Jersey

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NJD-BUF/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - New Jersey Devils v Buffalo Sabres

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Prudential Center, Newark, New Jersey

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-WSH-PIT/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Washington Capitals v Pittsburgh Penguins

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Capital One Arena, Washington, District of Columbia

24 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-DET-NSH/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Detroit Red Wings v Nashville Predators

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

24 Feb 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-BKN-SAC/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Brooklyn Nets v Sacramento Kings

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Barclays Center, Brooklyn, New York

24 Feb 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-NYK-GSW/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - New York Knicks v Golden State Warriors

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

24 Feb 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-PHI/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Toronto Raptors v Philadelphia 76ers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida

24 Feb 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-DAL-BOS/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Dallas Mavericks v Boston Celtics

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - American Airlines Center, Dallas, Texas

24 Feb 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIL-MIN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Milwaukee Bucks v Minnesota Timberwolves

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Fiserv Forum, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

24 Feb 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAC-WAS/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Los Angeles Clippers v Washington Wizards

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

24 Feb 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-DEN-POR/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Denver Nuggets v Portland Trail Blazers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Ball Arena, Denver, Colorado

24 Feb 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VAN-EDM/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Vancouver Canucks v Edmonton Oilers

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Arena, Vancouver, British Columbia

24 Feb 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-RUGBY/FRANCE (TV)

France's Six Nations squad resume training after several COVID-19 cases

France's Six Nations squad is set to return to training after 10 players tested positive for COVID-19 with Six Nations organizers set to make a decision on whether Sunday's game against Scotland in Paris should go ahead.

24 Feb

CRICKET-TEST-IND-ENG/

Cricket - Third Test - India v England

The Third Test match of England Tour of India at the Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad. The third Test will be a day-night match.

24 Feb

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/

Rugby - Super Rugby Aotearoa - Preview

Preview of the second season of New Zealand's domestic Super Rugby competition, which kicks off on Friday.

24 Feb 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-MUN-SOC/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - Manchester United training & news conference

Manchester United prepare for the second leg of their Europa League last-32 tie against Real Sociedad.

24 Feb 05:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

OLYMPICS-IOC/ (TV)

Olympics - IOC holds Executive Board meeting

The International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach chairs a virtual executive board meeting

24 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

02/23/2021 13:57

News, Photo and Web Search