REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

SOCCER-EUROPE/BREAKAWAY

Super League shelved as more clubs withdraw

MANCHESTER, England, April 21 (Reuters) - The European Super League collapsed on Wednesday as eight of the 12 founding members from England, Italy and Spain abandoned the breakaway project under massive pressure from fans, politicians, soccer officials and even the British royals.

OLYMPICS-IOC/

Taking a knee, raising a fist to be punished at Tokyo Games-IOC

Taking a knee during the Tokyo Olympics or lifting a fist in support of racial equality will be punished as the International Olympic Committee on Wednesday maintained its ban on athletes' protests inside stadiums, at ceremonies and on podiums.

FOOTBALL-CFL/

COVID-19 forces another CFL schedule rework

The start of the Canadian Football League's 2021 season will be pushed back almost two months and the schedule trimmed from 18 to 14 games as it continues to be affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, the CFL said on Wednesday.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-GERMANY-DOR-UNB/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Germany - Bundesliga - Borussia Dortmund v Union Berlin

Borussia Dortmund face Union Berlin in the Bundesliga.

21 Apr 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-SPZ-INT/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - Spezia v Inter Milan

Spezia host Inter Milan in a Serie A match.

21 Apr 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-JUV-PRM/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - Juventus v Parma

Juventus host Parma in a Serie A match

21 Apr 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-AVA-MCI/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Aston Villa v Manchester City

Aston Villa play Manchester City in the Premier League.

21 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-CCF-MAD/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Cadiz v Real Madrid

Cadiz will play Real Madrid in La Liga.

21 Apr 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-ARS-EVE/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Arsenal news conference

Arsenal's Mikel Arteta holds a news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match against Everton.

22 Apr 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/PREVIEW

Soccer - Spain - La Liga weekend preview

A preview of the weekend's action in La Liga.

22 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY/PREVIEW

Soccer - Italy - Serie A preview

Preview of the weekend's Serie A matches

22 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPE/BREAKAWAY-SPAIN (TV)

Soccer-La Liga news conference on Super League

La Liga president Javier Tebas, along with directors from several clubs will hold a press conference to discuss the Super League

22 Apr 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-ROM-ATT/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - AS Roma v Atalanta

AS Roma host Atalanta in a Serie A match.

22 Apr 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-ATM-HUE/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Atletico Madrid v Huesca

Atletico Madrid play Huesca in La Liga.

22 Apr 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

BASEBALL

BASEBALL-MLB-COL-HOU/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Colorado Rockies v Houston Astros

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Coors Field, Denver, Colorado

21 Apr 15:10 ET / 19:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-OAK-MIN/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Oakland Athletics v Minnesota Twins

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum, Oakland, California

21 Apr 15:37 ET / 19:37 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-WAS-STL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Washington Nationals v St. Louis Cardinals

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Nationals Park, Washington, District of Columbia

21 Apr 16:05 ET / 20:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-LAA-TEX/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Los Angeles Angels v Texas Rangers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Angel Stadium of Anaheim, Anaheim, California

21 Apr 16:07 ET / 20:07 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-SD-MIL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - San Diego Padres v Milwaukee Brewers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Petco Park, San Diego, California

21 Apr 16:10 ET / 20:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CIN-ARI/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cincinnati Reds v Arizona Diamondbacks

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Great American Ball Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

21 Apr 17:10 ET / 21:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-NYY-ATL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - New York Yankees v Atlanta Braves

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Yankee Stadium, New York City, New York

21 Apr 18:35 ET / 22:35 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CIN-ARI/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cincinnati Reds v Arizona Diamondbacks

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Great American Ball Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

21 Apr 18:40 ET / 22:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-DET-PIT/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Detroit Tigers v Pittsburgh Pirates

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Comerica Park, Detroit, Michigan

21 Apr 18:40 ET / 22:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-BOS-TOR/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Boston Red Sox v Toronto Blue Jays

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Fenway Park, Boston, Massachusetts

21 Apr 19:10 ET / 23:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CHC-NYM/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Chicago Cubs v New York Mets

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Wrigley Field, Chicago, Illinois

21 Apr 19:40 ET / 23:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-KC-TB/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Kansas City Royals v Tampa Bay Rays

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Ewing M. Kauffman Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri

22 Apr 20:10 ET / 00:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CIN-ARI/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cincinnati Reds v Arizona Diamondbacks

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Great American Ball Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

22 Apr 12:35 ET / 16:35 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-DET-PIT/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Detroit Tigers v Pittsburgh Pirates

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Comerica Park, Detroit, Michigan

22 Apr 13:10 ET / 17:10 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-CLE-CHI/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Cleveland Cavaliers v Chicago Bulls

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, Cleveland, Ohio

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-PHI-PHX/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Philadelphia 76ers v Phoenix Suns

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-WAS-GSW/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Washington Wizards v Golden State Warriors

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Capital One Arena, Washington, District of Columbia

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-BKN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Toronto Raptors v Brooklyn Nets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-IND-OKC/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Indiana Pacers v Oklahoma City Thunder

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis, Indiana

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-HOU-UTA/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Houston Rockets v Utah Jazz

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Toyota Center, Houston, Texas

22 Apr 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-NYK-ATL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - New York Knicks v Atlanta Hawks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

22 Apr 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-DAL-DET/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Dallas Mavericks v Detroit Pistons

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - American Airlines Center, Dallas, Texas

22 Apr 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-SAS-MIA/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - San Antonio Spurs v Miami Heat

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AT&T Center, San Antonio, Texas

22 Apr 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-SAC-MIN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Sacramento Kings v Minnesota Timberwolves

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Golden 1 Center, Sacramento, California

22 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAC-MEM/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Los Angeles Clippers v Memphis Grizzlies

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

22 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-POR-DEN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Portland Trail Blazers v Denver Nuggets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Moda Center at the Rose Quarter, Portland, Oregon

22 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CHI-NSH/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Chicago Blackhawks v Nashville Predators

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - United Center, Chicago, Illinois

21 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-ARI-MIN/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Arizona Coyotes v Minnesota Wild

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Gila River Arena, Glendale, Arizona

22 Apr 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VGK-SJS/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Vegas Golden Knights v San Jose Sharks

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada

22 Apr 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-EDM-MTL/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Edmonton Oilers v Montreal Canadiens

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Place, Edmonton, Alberta

22 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-BARCELONA/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 500 - Barcelona Open

Day four of the Barcelona Open - an ATP Tour 500 event.

22 Apr 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

TENNIS-BELGRADE/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 250 - Serbia Open

The quarter-finals of the Serbia Open - an ATP Tour 250 event in Belgrade.

22 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

TENNIS-BELGRADE/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 250 - Serbia Open

Day four of the Serbia Open - an ATP Tour 250 event in Belgrade.

22 Apr 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

CRICKET-INDIA/IPL (GRAPHIC)

Cricket-Indian Premier League Twenty20 competition

The eight-team Indian Premier League, the world's richest Twenty20 tournament, gets underway on April 9 with defending champions Mumbai Indians taking on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the opener in Chennai.

22 Apr

OLYMPICS-2020/TEST-RUGBY (PIX) (TV)

Olympics - Tokyo 2020 - Test Event - Rugby

The organizers for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics host the test event for Rugby, followed by an online media briefing.

22 Apr 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

GOLF-ZURICH/

Golf - PGA Tour - Zurich Classic of New Orleans

First round of the Zurich Classic of New Orleans at TPC Louisiana.

22 Apr 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

04/21/2021 18:33

News, Photo and Web Search