REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/CRICKET-IPL

IPL suspended due to COVID-19, foreign players fret over return

NEW DELHI, May 4 (Reuters) - The Indian Premier League (IPL) was suspended indefinitely on Tuesday due to the COVID-19 crisis in the country, leaving many international players with major concerns over how they will return home.

SOCCER-ITALY-ROM/MOURINHO

Roma appoint Mourinho as manager starting next season, Fonseca to leave

AS Roma have named Jose Mourinho as their new head coach on a three-year contract, the Italian Serie A club announced on Tuesday, 15 days after the Portuguese was sacked as manager of Tottenham Hotspur.

OLYMPICS-2020/TEST-MARATHON

Tokyo organizers bid to allay Sapporo test event concerns

SAPPORO, Japan, May 4 (Reuters) - Tokyo Olympic organizers acknowledged on Tuesday that Sapporo residents were concerned about a marathon test event being held in the northern Japanese city amid a rise in COVID-19 cases and said they were implementing measures to hold the event safely.

UPCOMING

BASEBALL

BASEBALL-MLB-CHC-LAD/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Chicago Cubs v Los Angeles Dodgers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Wrigley Field, Chicago, Illinois

4 May 14:20 ET / 18:20 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-COL-SF/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Colorado Rockies v San Francisco Giants

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Coors Field, Denver, Colorado

4 May 17:40 ET / 21:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CIN-CHW/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cincinnati Reds v Chicago White Sox

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Great American Ball Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

4 May 18:40 ET / 22:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-MIA-ARI/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Miami Marlins v Arizona Diamondbacks

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - loanDepot park, Miami, Florida

4 May 18:40 ET / 22:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-WAS-ATL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Washington Nationals v Atlanta Braves

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Nationals Park, Washington, District of Columbia

4 May 19:05 ET / 23:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-PHI-MIL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Philadelphia Phillies v Milwaukee Brewers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Citizens Bank Park, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

4 May 19:05 ET / 23:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-NYY-HOU/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - New York Yankees v Houston Astros

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Yankee Stadium, New York City, New York

4 May 19:05 ET / 23:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-BOS-DET/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Boston Red Sox v Detroit Tigers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Fenway Park, Boston, Massachusetts

4 May 19:10 ET / 23:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CHC-LAD/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Chicago Cubs v Los Angeles Dodgers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Wrigley Field, Chicago, Illinois

4 May 19:40 ET / 23:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-MIN-TEX/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Minnesota Twins v Texas Rangers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Target Field, Minneapolis, Minnesota

4 May 19:40 ET / 23:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-STL-NYM/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - St. Louis Cardinals v New York Mets

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Busch Stadium, St. Louis, Missouri

4 May 19:45 ET / 23:45 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-KC-CLE/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Kansas City Royals v Cleveland Indians

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Ewing M. Kauffman Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri

5 May 20:10 ET / 00:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-COL-SF/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Colorado Rockies v San Francisco Giants

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Coors Field, Denver, Colorado

5 May 21:10 ET / 01:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-LAA-TB/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Los Angeles Angels v Tampa Bay Rays

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Angel Stadium of Anaheim, Anaheim, California

5 May 21:38 ET / 01:38 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-OAK-TOR/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Oakland Athletics v Toronto Blue Jays

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum, Oakland, California

5 May 21:40 ET / 01:40 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-SEA-BAL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Seattle Mariners v Baltimore Orioles

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - T-Mobile Park, Seattle, Washington

5 May 22:10 ET / 02:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-SD-PIT/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - San Diego Padres v Pittsburgh Pirates

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Petco Park, San Diego, California

5 May 22:10 ET / 02:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CIN-CHW/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cincinnati Reds v Chicago White Sox

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Great American Ball Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

5 May 12:35 ET / 16:35 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MCI-PSG/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Manchester City v Paris St Germain

Manchester City play Paris St Germain in the second leg of their Champions league semi-final at the Etihad.

4 May 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHINA/

Soccer - Chinese Super League - Group B

Chinese Super League Group B (in Suzhou): Tianjin Tigers v Hebei FC; Shanghai Shenhua v Shanghai Port

May 5

SOCCER-EUROPA-ARS-VIL/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - Arsenal news conference & training

Arsenal prepare to play Villarreal in the second leg of their Europa League semi-final.

5 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-ARS-VIL/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - Villarreal training & news conference

Villarreal prepare to play Arsenal in the second leg of their Europa League semi-final.

5 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-ROM-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - Manchester United training & news conference

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer holds his first news conference since the protests at Old Trafford on Sunday as Manchester United prepare to play AS Roma in the second leg of their Europa League semi-final.

5 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-ROM-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - AS Roma training & news conference

AS Roma prepare to play Manchester United in the second leg of their Europa League semi-final.

5 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

ICE HOCKEY

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-PHI-PIT/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Philadelphia Flyers v Pittsburgh Penguins

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-BUF-NYI/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Buffalo Sabres v New York Islanders

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - KeyBank Center, Buffalo, New York

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NJD-BOS/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - New Jersey Devils v Boston Bruins

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Prudential Center, Newark, New Jersey

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CAR-CHI/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Carolina Hurricanes v Chicago Blackhawks

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - PNC Arena, Raleigh, North Carolina

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VAN-EDM/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Vancouver Canucks v Edmonton Oilers

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Arena, Vancouver, British Columbia

5 May 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-CLE-PHX/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Cleveland Cavaliers v Phoenix Suns

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, Cleveland, Ohio

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-DET-CHA/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Detroit Pistons v Charlotte Hornets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIL-BKN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Milwaukee Bucks v Brooklyn Nets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Fiserv Forum, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

4 May 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-OKC-SAC/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Oklahoma City Thunder v Sacramento Kings

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Chesapeake Energy Arena, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

5 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIA-DAL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Miami Heat v Dallas Mavericks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AmericanAirlines Arena, Miami, Florida

5 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-NOP-GSW/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - New Orleans Pelicans v Golden State Warriors

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Smoothie King Center, New Orleans, Louisiana

5 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAC-TOR/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Los Angeles Clippers v Toronto Raptors

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

5 May 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

OLYMPICS

OLYMPICS-2020/TOKYO-CHEER DANCERS (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE - Pep up the mood despite the Pandemic: Japan’s silver-haired cheer dancers

Every Monday, some 15 members of the cheer-dancing club Japan Pom Pom practice together, waving colorful Pom-Pom and dancing to the rhythm. But they're no ordinary cheer squad. With members ranging from 60 to 89, they're also Japan's oldest, a symbol of energy in the world's most elderly nation - and also a symbol of hope as they, one of the populations most vulnerable to Covid-19, try to lift the nations' spirits as it struggles with repeated waves of the coronavirus pandemic.

4 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/TEST-MARATHON (PIX) (TV)

Olympics - Tokyo 2020 - Test Event - Marathon

Tokyo 2020 Olympics' test event for men's and women's marathon kicks off in Sapporo on the island of Hokkaido.

5 May 20:50 ET / 00:50 GMT

05/04/2021 18:31

News, Photo and Web Search