REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 P.M. GMT/10 A.M. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 P.M. GMT/10 A.M. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

OLYMPICS-2020/FLOTUS

Olympics-Jill Biden leads U.S. delegation to Tokyo Games amid pandemic fears

TOKYO, (Reuters) - U.S. first lady Jill Biden is leading her country's diplomatic delegation to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, sending a message of support to a key Asian ally despite concerns about the COVID-19 pandemic.

OLYMPICS-2020/

Olympics-Opening ceremony director fired on Tokyo Games eve over Holocaust joke

TOKYO, (Reuters) - Tokyo Olympics organizers have fired the opening ceremony director on the eve of the event after reports emerged of a past joke he had made about the Holocaust, while media said former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, a strong advocate of the Games, would also not attend.

OLYMPICS-2020-FBL/

Olympics-Soccer-Spain frustrated in goalless draw, Mexico stun France

TOKYO, (Reuters) - Spain's Olympic men's soccer campaign got off to a rocky start after they lost two players to injury in a goalless draw with Egypt, while Mexico stunned France 4-1 as the group stage kicked off on Thursday.

UPCOMING

BASEBALL-MLB-BOS-NYY/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Boston Red Sox v New York Yankees

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Fenway Park, Boston, Massachusetts

22 Jul 19:10 ET / 23:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CLE-TB/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Cleveland Indians v Tampa Bay Rays

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Progressive Field, Cleveland, Ohio

22 Jul 19:10 ET / 23:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-DET-TEX/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Detroit Tigers v Texas Rangers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Comerica Park, Detroit, Michigan

22 Jul 13:10 ET / 17:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-LAD-SF/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Los Angeles Dodgers v San Francisco Giants

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, California

23 Jul 22:10 ET / 02:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-MIA-SD/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Miami Marlins v San Diego Padres

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - loanDepot park, Miami, Florida

22 Jul 19:10 ET / 23:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-MIN-LAA/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Minnesota Twins v Los Angeles Angels

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Target Field, Minneapolis, Minnesota

23 Jul 20:10 ET / 00:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-PHI-ATL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Philadelphia Phillies v Atlanta Braves

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Citizens Bank Park, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

22 Jul 19:05 ET / 23:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-SEA-OAK/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Seattle Mariners v Oakland Athletics

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - T-Mobile Park, Seattle, Washington

23 Jul 22:10 ET / 02:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-STL-CHC/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - St. Louis Cardinals v Chicago Cubs

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Busch Stadium, St. Louis, Missouri

22 Jul 19:15 ET / 23:15 GMT

CRICKET-ODI-WIN-AUS/

Cricket - West Indies v Australia - second one-day international

West Indies take on Australia in the second of three ODIs in Barbados.

22 Jul 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

CRICKET-T20-IRL-ZAF/

Cricket - Ireland vs South Africa - 2nd T20

Ireland will host South Africa in the second of three Twenty20 Internationals at Stormont, Belfast.

22 Jul 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

CRICKET-T20-ZWE-BGD/

Cricket- T20 - Zimbabwe v Bangladesh

Zimbabwe host Bangladesh in the second of their three match T20 series at the Harare Sports Club.

23 Jul 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

GOLF-TWINCITIES/

Golf - PGA Tour - 3M Open

First round of the 3M Open at the TPC Twin Cities in Blaine, Minnesota.

22 Jul 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

GOLF-WOMEN-EVIAN/

Golf - LPGA Tour - Evian Championship

Coverage of the major championship at Evian Resort Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France.

Jul 23

OLYMPICS-2020-ATH/STAR

Olympics-Athletics-Who can fill the "Bolt-hole"?

Who can be the next superstar of athletics? Who will be the face of Tokyo?. Nobody has really stepped up to the plate since Usain Bolt’s retirement and athletics needs some personality and presence.

Jul 23

OLYMPICS-2020-ATH/USA (TV)

Olympics - U.S. Track and Field team look ahead to Tokyo 2020

The stars of the U.S. Track and Field team hold a zoom call to preview the team's chances at the delayed Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

23 Jul 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020-SRF/AGUERRE (PIX)

Interview - International Surfing Association president Fernando Aguerre

International Surfing Association president Fernando Aguerre talks to Reuters about surfing’s journey to the Olympic Games, preparations for Tokyo 2020 and the challenges of COVID-19 as the sport makes its debut at the Tokyo Games.

Jul 23

OLYMPICS-2020-TEN/AUGERALIASSIME

Olympics-Tennis-Canadian Auger-Aliassime talks about opener against reigning champion Murray

Canadian Felix Auger-Aliassime talks about his Olympics opening round clash against Britain's Andy Murray, who is attempting a hat-trick of men's singles gold.

Jul 23

OLYMPICS-2020/ (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

Tokyo hosts the 2020 Olympic Games - the city's Olympic Stadium will host the opening ceremony on July 23.

Jul 23

OLYMPICS-2020/ (GRAPHIC)

Graphic: Coronavirus cases in Japan

Charts of coronavirus cases and deaths in Japan.

23 Jul 00:30 ET / 04:30 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/

TOKYO OLYMPICS: What you need to know right now

Daily summary of Olympics news and highlights.

23 Jul 03:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/BOXING (TV)

Olympics - IOC Boxing Task Force news conference

The IOC Boxing Task Force holds a news conference one day before the sport begins at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

23 Jul 23:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/CEREMONY (PIX) (TV)

Olympics - Opening Ceremony

Tokyo hosts the Olympics 2020 Opening Ceremony.

23 Jul 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/USA (TV)

Olympics - United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee news conference

The United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee hold a news conference on the opening day of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

23 Jul 23:30 ET / 03:30 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/USA-FLAGBEARERS (TV)

Olympics - United States Flagbearers news conference

The two U.S. flagbearers for the Olympic Games opening ceremony - Sue Bird and Eddy Alvarez - hold a news conference a few hours before going to the stadium.

23 Jul 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/WADA (TV)

Olympics - World Anti-Doping Agency news conference

The World Anti-Doping Agency holds a news conference on the opening day of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

23 Jul 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-SOFTBALL-BSB/

Olympics-Softball-Mexico look to show rival U.S. how far they have come

United States and Mexico play on Saturday in day three of Olympics action.

Jul 23

RUGBY-UNION-ZAF-LIO/

Rugby Union - British & Irish Lions press conference

The British & Irish Lions will hold a press conference ahead of the first test against South Africa in Cape Town on Saturday.

23 Jul 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-ZAF-LIO/

Rugby Union - South Africa press conference

The Springboks hold a press conference on the eve of the first test against the British & Irish Lions on Saturday at Cape Town Stadium.

23 Jul 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

RUSSIA-SOCCER/COACH

Soccer-Deadline for Russia to name head coach of the men’s national team

The Russian Football Union is expected to name a new head coach for the men’s national team after dismissing Stanislav Cherchesov over Russia’s early exit at the European championship.

Jul 23

SOCCER-LIBERTADORES-INL-OLP/REPORT (PIX)

Copa Libertadores - Round of 16 - Second leg - Internacional v Olimpia

Copa Libertadores round of 16

22 Jul 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

SOCCER-SUDAMERICANA-IND-STS/REPORT (PIX)

Copa Sudamericana - Round of 16 - Second leg - Independiente v Santos

Copa Libertadores round of 16

22 Jul 18:15 ET / 22:15 GMT

SOCCER-SUDAMERICANA-PEN-NCI/REPORT (PIX)

Copa Sudamericana - Round of 16 - Second leg - Penarol v Nacional

Copa Libertadores round of 16

22 Jul 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

SOCCER-USA-ATX-SEA/ (PIX)

Soccer - MLS - Austin FC v Seattle Sounders FC

2021 MLS Season (Regular Season) - Q2 Stadium, Austin, Texas

23 Jul 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT

SOCCER-USA-ORL-PHI/ (PIX)

Soccer - MLS - Orlando City SC v Philadelphia Union

2021 MLS Season (Regular Season) - Exploria Stadium, Orlando, Florida

22 Jul 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

07/22/2021 14:01

News, Photo and Web Search